Voicemail from Marshall McLuhan to Paul Levinson, 1978

07Nov11

 Paul Levinson

Monday, November 7, 2011

Here is a voicemail from Marshall McLuhan to me, left on what we then called our “answering machine,” from August 1978.   I had just completed my doctoral dissertation at NYU – but hadn’t yet even handed it in to my advisers, Neil Postman and Christine Nystrom.  Instead, I decided to mail it up to Marshall McLuhan in Toronto – we had met after I wrote the Preface to his “Laws of the Media” published in June 1977 in et cetera, and the “Tetrad Conference” I had organized with him, Eric McLuhan, Bob Blechman, and other notables at Fairleigh Dickinson University (where I then was an Assistant Professor) in March 1978.  Tina and I went on vacation right after I sent up the dissertation, and this is the message from Marshall we found on our return…
http://www.podcastpickle.com/media/podPlayer/pcpp.swf?URI=http://traffic.libsyn.com/paullev/LOLT-86-McLuhan-voicemail-1978.mp3&instantLoad=0
Voicemail from Marshall McLuhan, 1978

2 Responses to “Voicemail from Marshall McLuhan to Paul Levinson, 1978”

  1. 1 Joshua Meyrowitz

    Hi Paul, The audio link no longer works. Do you have it somewhere else online??

    • Hi Josh – I’ll find out from Paul what the new link is and change this posting. Thanks for the heads-up……Alex


Leave a Reply

