Cheche Lazaro named as 2014 Marshall McLuhan fellow, Philippines


June 26, 2014

Veteran broadcast journalist Cheche Lazaro has been awarded the prestigious Marshall McLuhan Fellowship from the Canadian Embassy for her excellence in the media industry.

Cheche Lazaro receives her plaque as the 2014 Marshall McLuhan fellow from the Canadian Embassy’s Political and Economic Relations Counsellor James Christoff. Xianne Arcangel

Lazaro’s selection as the 18th McLuhan fellow was announced Thursday at the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism seminar organized by the Center for Media Freedom and Democracy.

Philippine Daily Inquirer reporter Nancy Carvajal, who broke the story on the misuse of lawmakers’ Priority Development Assistance Fund last year, was chosen as the CMFR’s Outstanding Journalist of 2013. She was the first recipient of the award.

Canadian Embassy Political and Economic Relations Counsellor James Christoff, who presented the award, said Lazaro “[has a name] that is synonymous with excellence in the industry and exemplifies the best in the profession.”

“She has a long history of acclaimed journalistic work in various media platforms, a courageous approach in fleshing out the most important issues of the day, and a relentless thirst to share knowledge with her colleagues,” he said.

Lazaro is the founding president of Probe Productions Inc. She has worked as a reporter and producer of television programs such as “The Probe Team”, the youth-oriented educational show “5 and Up”, “Gameplan” and “Cheche Lazaro Presents” over her storied career spanning nearly three decades.

Among the accolades she has received are the KBP Golden Dove Awards, Gawad CCP para sa Telebisyon, University of the Philippines’ Gawad Plaridel, Catholic Mass Media Awards (Hall of Fame), and the Excellence in Broadcasting Award from the Philippine Movie Press Club.

Surpise recognition

Lazaro said she considers winning the award as a “pleasant surprise” since she thought the recognition was exclusively given to print journalists.

“Many people who have won the Marshall McLuhan award are [what I consider] ‘super journalists’ whom I admire,” she told GMA News Online.

The Marshall McLuhan Fellowship, named after the world-renowned Canadian communication scholar, is the Embassy of Canada’s flagship media advocacy initiative.

Launched in 1997 to encourage responsible journalism in the Philippines, the Fellowship underlines Canada’s belief that strong media is essential to a free and democratic society.

The fellowship consists of a two-week familiarization tour and lecture at Canadian media and academic organizations. The fellow will also be invited to give a lecture at select Philippine universities.

Other finalists for the award were Carvajal, PDI reporter Joey Gabieta, GMA Network reporter Steve Dailisan, news editor Miriam Grace Go and freelance journalist Jake Soriano.

Each of the finalists received a P20,000 honorarium. Carvajal received an additional P30,000 as part of her citation. KG/BM, GMA News (Source )

No Responses Yet to “Cheche Lazaro named as 2014 Marshall McLuhan fellow, Philippines”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: