Call for Papers: The 19th Annual Convention of the Media Ecology Association (MEA), University of Maine, Orono – June, 2018


Senses of Time, Space and Place


Since 1950, when Canadian economic historian Harold Innis grounded his communication history theory in the ebb and flow of time-biased and space-biased media from ancient to modern civilizations, time and space have been a key concept in what later became media ecology in the 1970s. Marshall McLuhan applied the time/space concept to perception to understand the temporal characteristics of oral culture; the spatial nature of visual scribal and typographic culture, and the elimination of time and space in electronic media culture. Walter Ong featured time and space as central to the modes of consciousness in orality and literacy. Neil Postman attributed the decline in rational print culture discourse to the shortening attention span of television culture. For James Carey, too, time and space were critical elements of the equation of communication and culture. Joshua Meyrowitz explored the shifting sense of place in media cultures. And theorists from Jean Baudrillard to Paul Virilio contemplated postmodern and posthuman senses of time, space and place.

With this as context, we invite paper and panel proposals that address one or more of the three core themes. Although we encourage submissions that touch upon, or align with, the convention theme, papers, abstracts, and panel proposal submissions from all areas of Media Ecology are welcome. A maximum of two submissions per author will be accepted. Authors who wish their papers to be considered for the Top Paper or Top Student Paper award must indicate this on their submission(s). The top papers will be published in Explorations in Media Ecology. All submissions will be acknowledged. The language of the convention is English.

Please note that paper and panel proposals do not need to be related to the overall conference theme.

Please submit all papers, and paper and panel proposals to the submission page for MEA 2018, at

. Please send questions only to the convention coordinator, Paul Grosswiler, at <>

The deadline for submissions is Dec. 1, 2017.

Guidelines for Submission

For manuscripts eligible for MEA award submissions:

1.     Manuscripts should be 4,000-6,000 words (approximately 15 to 25 double-spaced pages)

2.     Include a cover page (or e-submission page) with your academic or professional
affiliation and other contact information.

3.     Include a 150 words abstract, with the title. Use APA, MLA or Chicago style.

4.     Papers should be written in English.

For Paper and Panel Proposals:

1.     Include title, 250 words abstract, and contact information with your

2.     Outline, as relevant, how your paper or panel will fit with the convention theme

3.     Presenters should be prepared to deliver their papers in English.

4.     Authors with papers submitted as part of a panel proposal or as a paper proposal that wish to be considered for Top Paper or Top Student Paper must send completed paper to the convention planner by April 1, 2018.

MEA 2018 Featured Speakers

Neil Postman Award for Career Achievement in Public Intellectual Activity

Renee Hobbs  –  Communication Studies Professor Renee Hobbs is an internationally recognized authority on digital and media literacy education. Through community and global service and as a researcher, teacher, advocate and media professional, Dr. Hobbs has worked to advance the quality of digital and media literacy education in the United States and around the world. She is founder and director of the Media Education Lab at the University of Rhode Island, whose mission is to improve the quality of media literacy education through research and community service.

Walter J. Ong Award for Career Achievement in Scholarship

Susan J. Drucker  –  is professor and coordinator of the media studies program in the Department of Journalism/ Mass Media Studies at Hofstra University. She is an attorney and teaches courses in media law and media ethics. She is the author and editor of eight books and over 100 articles and book chapters, including American Heroes in a Media Age (1994) (with Robert Cathcart) and Global Media Heroes (2008) (with Gary Gumpert); Huddled Masses: Immigration and Communication (1998); Voices in the Street: Gender, Media and Public Space (1997), Take Me Out to the Ballgame: Communicating Baseball (2002), and two editions of Real Law @ Virtual Space: The Regulation of Cyberspace (1999, 2005) and Urban Communication Reader (2008) (with Gene Burd). Her next book is Convergence Regulation.

No Responses Yet to “Call for Papers: The 19th Annual Convention of the Media Ecology Association (MEA), University of Maine, Orono – June, 2018”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: