Journalist Christian Esguerra Named as 2020 McLuhan Fellow in the Philippines for Excellence in Journalism


Journalist Christian Esguerra named as 2020 McLuhan Fellow for Excellence in Journalism

The Embassy of Canada in the Philippines presented the annual Marshall McLuhan Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism to Christian Esguerra of ABS-CBN News, in recognition of his stellar work in the past year especially in providing explanatory reporting of the day’s most important issues.

Canada’s Ambassador to the Philippines Peter MacArthur named Mr. Esguerra as the new McLuhan Fellow during the virtual Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar organized by the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR).

In presenting the award, Ambassador MacArthur cited Mr. Esguerra’s professional qualities: “consistency in providing the public outstanding coverage of the most pressing stories of the day; knowledge of a wide range of issues, deftness in adapting to the changing platforms of the industry, and a desire to mold the next generation of media professionals.”
He also lauded Mr. Esguerra’s “passion for the craft (that) transcends news platforms, and whose proficient mastery to discover and explain the facts restricts the space for disinformation to thrive.”
Congratulations, Christian!

Established in 1997, the prestigious Marshall McLuhan Fellowship is awarded yearly by the Canadian Embassy in the Philippines to a recipient “embodying outstanding qualities in the field of investigative journalism.” 

The fellow will travel to universities across Canada and the Philippines to deliver lectures on a chosen topic in journalism.

Previous McLuhan fellows include Patricia Evangelista (2019), Jeff Canoy (2018), Manny Mogato (2017), Gigi Grande (2016), Joseph Morong (2015), Cheche Lazaro (2014), Eileen Mangubat (2013), Lynda Jumilla (2012), Carol Arguillas (2011), Ed Lingao (2010), Diosa Labiste (2009), Glenda Gloria (2008), Inday Varona (2007), Gerry Lirio (2006), Yvonne Chua (2000, 2005), Tess Bacalla (2004), Luz Rimban (2003), Miriam Grace Go (2002), Vinia Datinguinoo (2001), Ellen Tordesillas (1999) and Sheila Coronel (1998).

For more information, see

%d bloggers like this: